I am a PC, and I overclocked my rig to 4 ghz!

16Nov09

Maxed

My workstation is completely guilty for increasing my electric bill. Especially when I’m working on renders that compute all night long.   In order to get the most bang for the buck, I have built a machine that is easily upgradable and overclocked.

Though the “4ghz club” is not as prestigious as the “Mile High Club”,  it still is quite rewarding.  The Intel i7 920 is able to crank out an impressive  65% boost over its stock speed. I probably could go higher but I would have to switch to water cooling.

I’m using the Huge Prolimatech Megahalem to keep the system cool with 3 2k rpm case/CPU fans along with SpeedFan for temperature control.   This allows me to run the system for everyday needs with absolutely NO NOISE , and the moment I need everything that its got, the fans kick on full speed ahead.

I highly recommend this set-up.

CPU : Intel i7 920 D0 step @ 4ghz
MOBO : Asus P6T Deluxe V2
MEMORY : 6gigs of Corsair DominatorDD3 1600 8-8-8-24
VIDEO :  Nvidia Quadro FX5600
HARDDRIVES : Western Digital Velociraptor and Caviar Green
CASE :  the Super simple Lian Li Aluminum case A05B
HEATSINK : Prolimatech Megahalem with OCZ FreeZe
PSU : Corsair 750HX(probably would go with 850 now)
FANS :3  Scythe Slipstream 2000 rpm
DVD : who cares?

OC_4g

 



2 Responses to “I am a PC, and I overclocked my rig to 4 ghz!”

  1. 1 Greg

    This sounds sick… where can i get one… can u hook a brother up…

    • 2 .23d

      the can find all of the parts from Newegg and FrozenCPU.

      super easy to put together. for the realtime and CAD stuff, you could always go with a FX1800 or similar… a lot cheaper.


Leave a comment